Use Single Switchport to Connect Multiple IP Phones: A Workaround :)

Don’t tell me I’m kidding with you guys, I have short of switchports near my desk so I used a single switchport to connect three 7941 IP Phones for the lab. 🙂

The procedure is very simple, connect the second phone ‘Switch Port’ with the first phone ‘PC Port’, again third phone ‘Switch Port’ with the second phone ‘PC Port’ and so on…. Don’t forget to set all the Switch and PC ports to ‘100Mbps Full Duplex’ rather than ‘Auto-Negotiation’. Also configure a single access vlan on the actual switchport configuration your first phone is connected with and don’t configure the voice vlan on the switchport. Configure the IP/Default Router/TFTP 1/TFTP2 manually on the phones rather than DHCP. Also you will need power adapters for all the phones except the first phone if your switch is PoE capable. That’s all! You can have a try, my phones are working great. Again, I’m using the topology for the lab only, never think about it for the production. 😀

About Mijanur Rahman
I have started blogging to save and share my study notes, findings and research notes as I have already lost some important! Wish you find something helpful from my blogs, if you have anything to ask you are always welcome to comment or contact me directly. Thanks, Md. Mijanur Rahman

Leave a Reply

