ESX 3.5i on HP DL320 G4: doesn’t work on RAID 0

This server is well known to as Cisco MCS 7825-H2 to us rather than the origin DL320 G4. I was working with this blade server today, was trying to install ESX3.5i on RAID 0, but unfortunately it’s not supported. I checked the HP site (http://h71028.www7.hp.com/enterprise/cache/524262-0-0-0-121.html) and got the proof, but surprisingly it works with RAID 1 (mirrored), but on the ESX Datastore it shows TWO (!!!) datastores! each with 74GB, 74GB+74GB=128GB in total! I couldn’t figure out how it could happen, it should show only 74GB in total if it is configured with RAID 1, right? I have no idea what is going on…

About Mijanur Rahman
I have started blogging to save and share my study notes, findings and research notes as I have already lost some important! Wish you find something helpful from my blogs, if you have anything to ask you are always welcome to comment or contact me directly. Thanks, Md. Mijanur Rahman

4 Responses to ESX 3.5i on HP DL320 G4: doesn’t work on RAID 0

  1. Rodney Beede says:

    Old thread but ESXi doesn’t support Fake raid or software raid. The built-in SATA controller only has fake raid.

  2. dreamforccie says:

    I was able to install on RAID 1 and even boot up.

  3. Jacob Witul says:

    I have not found an install of ESXi 3.5 to actually work on the MCS 7825/ Dl320 G4, whether RAID 0 or RAID 1, it would install but not boot. Did you have success?

Leave a Reply

